21 April, 2018

Regional Centre


IGNOU (a Central University by an Act of Parliament) has established Regional Centre at Saharsa in July 2011 with jurisdiction over eight districts of Bihar, namely Purnea, Khagaria, Madhepura, Katihar, Araria, Supaul, Kishanganj and Saharsa with the aim of democratizing higher education in the largely underdeveloped region of North Bihar.


The Regional Centre at Saharsa (RC Code: 86), carved out of Regional Centre Darbhanga, is one of the four Regional Centres in the state of Bihar.


There are presently 15 Learner Support Centres (LSCs) in the above mentioned districts coming under Saharsa Regional Centre jurisdiction. The students enrolled/ attached to these Study Centres in the given districts are automatically transferred to Regional Centre Saharsa from Regional Centre Darbhanga for all practical purposes/support services.